Sinking down slowly into sobriety

In my post a few days ago I said that I wasn’t sure why I was ruminating on my strange lack of association with the concept of early sobriety. Denial, I guess, though it doesn’t have all the bells and blinking lights I associate with big-D denial.

I think the reason the realization was important is that I am reminded that I really need to slow down. I have it in me, at last, to slow down, and there is person-less space around me right now that puts slowing down within reach. (Not cat-free, but human-free — the way I like it!) I have grown and gotten many many insights over the last two or three years, but there is still a lot of healing left to happen. The “old pro” silliness stands in the way of that. A lot of gears in me got rusted by the damn alcohol. Pardon what has to be a chemically inaccurate metaphor.

Day 53.

Adrian

3 thoughts on “Sinking down slowly into sobriety

  1. Early sobriety is a really weird time…it’s that thing where you can see everything clearly for the first time in a long time and there is so much to do and fix BUT you are TIRED and just knackered. xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

